Questions about SUPERCHARGING my 426?!

Discussion in 'Engine & Performance Modifications' started by SRTLUVR, Jan 10, 2011.

1. SRTLUVR

SRTLUVR Detailing "Go-to" Guy

I have an offer from a forum member to buy a LOW mileage Stage1 HO ProCharger unit. This will be going on my 10.3:1cr 426 stroker. I already have the necessary "foundation" for the extra power (SHR trans, DSS axles, Quaife, etc.). And I should be safe just running single digit boost (8-9lbs.). I know this unit comes with a pulley to run only 6lbs. Also. I'm only gonna be buying the necessary goodies from him, as I know I will need fuel system upgrades. So here's my list of questions (some of them might be kinda stupid, as I'm new to all this):
    1) Can I swap a pulley on this to get to 8-9lbs. of boost, or does this kit ONLY run 6lbs?
    2) Does 650-700rwhp (I'm at 530 now) sound like a reasonable goal with this unit? (I know "dynos are for tuning" and "the track is where results are measured." Lol, but I RARELY track my car, so I'm wanting a tangible horsepower increase for my own measurement.)
    3) The necessary fuel system upgrades would be: 80lb injectors, Fore fuel hat, Walbro pump. Anything else? (I obviously already have a Predator, and fuel rails will already be done by then)

Is there anything else I should be thinking/needing with all this??

2. 1bad4dr

1bad4dr Mr. Meany

Chase,

Do you really need the s/c? For you not tracking the car or even using the blower to its full potential, I would think you would want to spend that money elsewhere?

What kind of Cam are you running? You will need to change it to an f/i cam.

Yes, you can get more boost by changing pulley sizes.

You might get to the 650rwhp with a 6# pulley, but that might be stretching it?

Please give this some serious thought.

3. SRTLUVR