Go Back   Dodge SRT Forum - SRTConnection > The Workshop > Diablosport Q&A


Diablosport Q&A

PCM not getting to duty cycle...


This is a discussion onPCM not getting to duty cycle... within the Diablosport Q&A forums, part of the The Workshop category!
Ok all, I have been trying to pass emissions since the begining of November and have tried many things... 1) ...



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
1bad4dr's Avatar
Mr. Meany



 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Corn Country
Posts: 19,670
Default PCM not getting to duty cycle...

Ok all,

I have been trying to pass emissions since the begining of November and have tried many things...

1) put in a 203* T-Stat (mine is a 170)
2) Got an "Emissions" only tune from Russ (formerly of Techco) that has all emission based codes placed back to OEM spec.

I have logged nearly 500 miles. Part of this is many cold starts and driving about 10 - 15 miles each time, twice a day.

Still can not get the O2 heaters, Evap Cooler, and the O2's to get to their duty cycle. Not throwing any codes either.

I do NOT have Cats, but I do have the foulers AND O2 Sims.

What's baffling is two years ago, when I had the Split Second piggy back ECU, I passed Emissions with no problem.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Ron
Speed = Money squared.....
Did you eat an extra bowl of STUPID this morning?
[CENTER]
1bad4dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Dookie's Avatar
Foe twenny sics

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 2,884
Default

Bribes work.
__________________
Name is Kyle
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Quick's Avatar
Mgmt. - I can't help you


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,549
Default

Your rear 02's are turned on in the tune?

Note: "turning off the rear 02's" in the tune doesn't actually turn off anything. It simply blocks the generation of that code... and also prevents the diags from going to the ready state.


I have been trying to pass emissions
you sure this isn't a joke? ...kinda like JMatt rolling up to the smog check station in his camero
__________________
My name is Dave and I've got more even and simultaneous combustion... .
2006 Magnum SRT8
AFE Stage II
Mopar Cat Back
Hotchkis Sways
185* T-stat
Custom tune
Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
1bad4dr's Avatar
Mr. Meany



 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Corn Country
Posts: 19,670
Default

everything has been turned on or put back to OEM spec.

haha Not a joke, Dave. Only NM does differently than CA is the C.A.R.B. inspection.


Kyle, bribes are no longer an option. lol Hell, we can't even plug in my VIN and then test on a different car...
__________________
Ron
Speed = Money squared.....
Did you eat an extra bowl of STUPID this morning?
[CENTER]
1bad4dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Quick's Avatar
Mgmt. - I can't help you


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,549
Default

Originally Posted by 1bad4dr View Post
everything has been turned on or put back to OEM spec.
Is that possible? like your map sensor? Just checking. You think whoever reset all of that knows what all gets factored into it going "ready"?



haha Not a joke, Dave. Only NM does differently than CA is the C.A.R.B. inspection.
"I'm here for the inspection. heh, really sorry about your hat and clipboard getting sucked into the intake, I thought your were clear when I started it up."
__________________
My name is Dave and I've got more even and simultaneous combustion... .
2006 Magnum SRT8
AFE Stage II
Mopar Cat Back
Hotchkis Sways
185* T-stat
Custom tune
Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
1bad4dr's Avatar
Mr. Meany



 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Corn Country
Posts: 19,670
Default

lmao at the second quote...

Russ said he spoke with Johan when doing this.

Let's just say I can NOT get into boost, can NOT give 1/4 throttle or she falls on her face. haha I really have HATED driving her these past few weeks.
__________________
Ron
Speed = Money squared.....
Did you eat an extra bowl of STUPID this morning?
[CENTER]
1bad4dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Quick's Avatar
Mgmt. - I can't help you


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,549
Default

Ok... i don't know squat about it. Will the engine run at all with a bone stock tune? or close to it? It doesn't have to be driveable...

Stock tune (maybe idle and fuel adjusted to get it to idle without dying)
Idle it in the driveway until it goes ready (hours, days, whatever)
Flat bed to the inspection station.
Idle it there for the inspection. I think they only have to rev it once in neutral for a minute or so? like a couple of thousand rpm or something?
Push it back from the bay and re-install your regular tune.
__________________
My name is Dave and I've got more even and simultaneous combustion... .
2006 Magnum SRT8
AFE Stage II
Mopar Cat Back
Hotchkis Sways
185* T-stat
Custom tune
Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 06:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
1bad4dr's Avatar
Mr. Meany



 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Corn Country
Posts: 19,670
Default

Originally Posted by Quick View Post
Ok... i don't know squat about it. Will the engine run at all with a bone stock tune? or close to it? It doesn't have to be driveable...

Stock tune (maybe idle and fuel adjusted to get it to idle without dying)
Idle it in the driveway until it goes ready (hours, days, whatever)
Flat bed to the inspection station.
Idle it there for the inspection. I think they only have to rev it once in neutral for a minute or so? like a couple of thousand rpm or something?
Push it back from the bay and re-install your regular tune.
lol once the tune is changed, codes cleared (by hand held), or battery disconnected, the car MUST go through several driving habits (cold start to engine temps and more...) to get the averages of the emissions. The hardest of them is the Evap Cooler. Ask the LSx guys. hahaha

If it were as easy as just sitting and idling, I would be all over it. haha

I am pretty sure the inspectors wouldn't allow a towed in vehicle to be emissions test??? hahahaha

While the car is in Park, you have to hold the RPM's between 2350 - 2500 for 60 seconds. FYI.

I have actually learend A LOT about how OBII and emissions works thanks in large part to my local dealership. They have been allowing me to come in and hook the car up to their machine to see if I have made any progress, FREE of charge. I love those guys.
__________________
Ron
Speed = Money squared.....
Did you eat an extra bowl of STUPID this morning?
[CENTER]
1bad4dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
FlyByU's Avatar
Vroom vroom

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 726
Default

Id venture to bet that your tune doesnt have the o2 sensors turned back on completely and or there is a thing they can do in your tune to keep from throwing a code for your tstat cycles.

I assume you are turning your key to the on position and waiting 15 seconds and your CEL starts to flash. You can check yourself without having to go to the inspection guy everytime to see if you are ready to test. If your CEL starts to blink after 15 seconds, you arent ready, if it stays steady, good to go.

Have your tune 100% checked for those two things, havent heard of anything else that keeps a car from getting into ready status.
__________________
Dan

Arrington 426 w/Nitrous Outlet Direct Port and Paramount Performance Driveline
9.99 @ 137 mph

Click the image to open in full size.
FlyByU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 07:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
FlyByU's Avatar
Vroom vroom

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 726
Default

When you write a new tune or clear codes, your drive cycles start over as well. So keep that in mind.

If I remember right, takes me about 40 miles of driving to get my car to get into ready status.
__________________
Dan

Arrington 426 w/Nitrous Outlet Direct Port and Paramount Performance Driveline
9.99 @ 137 mph

Click the image to open in full size.
FlyByU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On